Make calls to stop SB 404 in FL Senate

The forced parental consent bill, SB 404, is scheduled to be on its “second reading” before the full Florida Senate on Wednesday, January 29 and is expected to be up for a vote the following Tuesday, February 4.

Here is how you can take action:

Contact the targeted Senators listed below to urge a “no” vote on the forced parental consent for abortion bill:

  • “Hello, my name is ______________. I urge you to vote NO on SB 404. Voting for this unconstitutional bill will ultimately reverse Florida’s  version of Roe v. Wade and put young people, who already face obstacles to health care, at risk of further jeopardy. ”

 

First Name Last Name District District Phone Local Phone Email Address Twitter
Ben Albritton 26 (863) 534-0073 (850) 487-5026 albritton.ben@flsenate.gov @RepAlbritton
Dennis Baxley 12 (352) 750-3133 (850) 487-5012 baxley.dennis@flsenate.gov @dennisbaxley
Aaron Bean 4 (904) 757-5039 (850) 487-5004 bean.aaron@flsenate.gov @AaronPBean
Lizbeth Benacquisto 27 (239) 338-2570 (850) 487-5027 benacquisto.lizbeth@flsenate.gov @lizbethkb
Rob Bradley 5 (904) 278-2085 (850) 487-5005 bradley.rob@flsenate.gov @Rob_Bradley
Jeff Brandes 24 (727) 563-2100 (850) 487-5024 brandes.jeff@flsenate.gov @JeffreyBrandes
Doug Broxson 1 (850) 595-1036 (850) 487-5001 broxson.doug@flsenate.gov @DougBroxson
Manny Diaz 36 (305) 364-3073 (850) 487-5036 diaz.manny@flsenate.gov @SenMannyDiazJr
Anitere Flores 39 (305) 222-4117 (850) 487-5039 flores.anitere@flsenate.gov @anitere_flores
George Gainer 2 (850) 747-5454 (850) 487-5002 gainer.george@flsenate.gov @SenatorGainer
Bill Galvano 21 (941) 741-3401 (850) 487-5021 galvano.bill@flsenate.gov @BillGalvano
Joe Gruters 23 (941) 378-6309 (850) 487-5023 gruters.joe@flsenate.gov @JoeGruters
Gayle Harrell 25 (772) 221-4019 (850) 487-5025 Harrell.Gayle@flsenate.gov @Gayle_Harrell
Ed Hooper 16 (727) 771-2102 (850) 487-5016 Hooper.Ed@flsenate.gov @EdEhooper1
Travis Hutson 7 (386) 446-7610 (850) 487-5007 Hutson.Travis@flsenate.gov @TravisJHutson
Tom Lee 20 (813) 653-7061 (850) 487-5020 lee.tom@flsenate.gov @TomLeeFL
Debbie Mayfield 17 (321) 409-2025 (850) 487-5017 mayfield.debbie@flsenate.gov @debbie_mayfield
Kathleen Passidomo 28 (239) 417-6205 (850) 487-5028 passidomo.kathleen@flsenate.gov @Kathleen4SWFL
Keith Perry 8 (352) 264-4040 (850) 487-5008 perry.keith@flsenate.gov @KeithPerryFL
David Simmons 9 (407) 262-7578 (850) 487-5009 simmons.david@flsenate.gov @DSimmonsFL
Wilton Simpson 10 (352) 688-5077 (850) 487-5010 simpson.wilton@flsenate.gov @WiltonSimpson
Kelli Stargel 22 (863) 668-3028 (850) 487-5022 stargel.kelli.web@flsenate.gov @kellistargel
Tom A. Wright 14 (386) 304-7630 (850) 487-5014 wright.tom@flsenate.gov

More about the bill, teens, pregnancy and abortion:

SB 404, and its House version, HB 265, would require doctors to acquire notarized consent of a parent, as well as proof of parentage, before a young person could access abortion care. Current law already contains parental notification requirements.

Young people should be able to turn to their parents when faced with an unintended pregnancy, and in fact most do. But laws requiring a young person to further involve parents puts our teens’ health and safety at risk.

The small fraction of youth who do not voluntarily consult a parent often have good reason. Many come from families where such an announcement would only exacerbate an already volatile or dysfunctional family situation. They may not live with their parents due to family strife or incarceration. Some teens who don’t want to tell a parent about their abortion decision fear, if they did, they would be kicked out of the house. Others fear they would be physically abused because their parents had beaten them before.

The fact is, youth already are more likely than older women to have later abortions, and requiring a young person’s health care provider to acquire written permission will only cause further delays. (We saw that after Missouri enacted a forced parental consent law, the proportion of second-trimester abortions among minors increased by 17%.) While abortion is safer than childbirth, later abortions entail more medical risks and are more difficult to obtain because they are more expensive and fewer doctors perform them.